Review: The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher!



opportunist book

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Series: Love Me With Lies #1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Age Group: New Adult/Adult
Release Date: November 14th 2011
Print Length: 278 pages
Format: Kindle
Source: Purchased
Review Date: August 10th 2013
Cover Rating: 5 Stars
Steam Rating: Hot ❤
Overall Rating: 5+++ Stars ****
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Summary:

Olivia Kaspen has just discovered that her ex-boyfriend, Caleb Drake, has lost his memory. With an already lousy reputation for taking advantage of situations, Olivia must decide how far she is willing to go to get Caleb back. Wrestling to keep her true identity and their past under wraps, Olivia’s greatest obstacle is Caleb’s wicked new girlfriend; Leah Smith. It is a race to the finish as these two vipers engage in a vicious tug of war to possess a man who no longer remembers them. But, soon enough Olivia must face the consequences of her lies, and in the process discover that sometimes love falls short of redemption.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

cool opportunist

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Review:

The Opportunist is one of the most unique books I have ever read. Every time I thought I knew what was going to happen or I thought I knew where the story was going I was so, so wrong! This isn’t a love story. It’s about 2 (more like 3) very fucked up and complicated people. I love messed up characters! The more messed up they are, the better. But even they had a way of pushing me to my limits…

I STILL am not sure what the hell I feel about this book. I don’t even know what to rate it! I kept changing it from 3 stars to 5 stars to pretty much everything in between. To say this book is a mind fuck is a HUGE understatement! You don’t even realize how much a  mind fuck it really is until the very end. Then you go back and realize that there is SO MUCH more to the story than what you originally thought. You start to question and second guess everything, every interaction every word, EVERYTHING! Once you realize these small but very important details, I was like holy fuck and I wanted to give it 5 stars!!! But then I remembered the ending (why?!) and I got pissed all over again and I want to give it 2 stars. Are you confused? Well join the club because obviously so am I! I still don’t know what to think…

Olivia Kapsen, what can I say.. I love her, I hate her..hell, I think I even admire her at times. This story is told from her point of view, so you are taken along her journey. I wanted to hate Olivia, I really did. But it is so hard to when I can relate so much to her. She does horrible things but always justifies them by chalking it up to love. She is self- destructive, manipulative, and down right bad. But, Caleb is back and has given her a second chance at forever and she was not going to lose him without a fight. Especially not to Leah, the red-headed she-devil! I HATE HATE HATE HATE Leah! She is evil, manipulative, crazy.. well.. in essence she is a lot like Olivia. Both women are fighting for what they want. Caleb Drake is the vision of perfection. But along this ride, you realize that Caleb is far from perfect. He obviously has a thing for destructive women. To me he seems glutton for punishment. Constantly taking the destructive path and much like Olivia, chalking it up to love. That is what I love about this book. There is no “good-guy”. Everyone is deceitful and screwed up in their own way, like in a real life story.

Olivia and Caleb were involved in a very complicated relationship in college. Olivia was almost obsessed with Caleb but at the same time, she had a hard time expressing her feelings for him. Olivia has serious trust and emotional issues that stem from her father and his infidelity/drug use. She did some pretty horrible things to get Caleb back then, only to end up losing him and breaking his heart. When she sees him 3 years later and finds out that he lost his memory and doesn’t remember who she is, the old Olivia immediately starts scheming. She approaches Caleb and pretends this is her first time meeting him. They hit it off, because regardless of their past, the chemistry is still there between them and that fucker is very strong! The closer she gets to Caleb, the more she realizes that her time with him is running out. He’s slowly remembering things about his life and it’s only a matter of time before he remembers Olivia. But Olivia doesn’t care and she decides she’s going to enjoy the rest of the time she has with Caleb, whether he remembers her or not.

When they could no longer function as a couple they move on in life. Olivia finishes law school  and pursues her upcoming law career. Caleb pursues his career and begins dating the wealthy socialite Leah Smith. Leah is determined to keep Caleb at all costs! Which in Leah’s way means being a pathological liar.  Olivia starts to regret moving on from Caleb. They will always love each other, but are the compatible or incompatible? Continue reading in Dirty Red, and in Thief to find out more….

blogger-image-1203531644

“I am Olivia Kaspen, and if I love something I rip it from my life. Not intentionally…not unintentionally either.”

Caleb is swoon worthy.  I love him *sigh*
“It is the last real kiss of my life. I forever cling to that kiss. It was goodbye and I’m sorry and I love you so much. When it is done, he presses his forehead to my own one last time and then he is gone.
 I am broken.”
    This has to be the most heart breaking way to end a book.  *sobs …and more sobs…I hate to see my heart shattered into tiny pieces… *and the sobbing continues.. I love , love this book! *sobs
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
Favorite Quotations from “The Opportunist” by Tarryn Fisher :
“I think that after the first time you give your heart away, you never get it back.  The rest of your life is just you pretending that you still have a heart.”
“It was the last real kiss of my life.  I forever cling to that kiss.  It was goodbye and I’m sorry and I love you so much.  When it is done, he presses his forehead to my own one last time and then he is gone.
I am broken.”
“He was my crack. I could never get enough, and when I had him I was already thinking about when I could have him next.”
“How could you forget someone you loved even if I did rip his heart to shreds?”
“I knew what I was going to do, something that would hurt him more than he hurt me. That’s the way I fought, dirty. An eye for an eye.”
“You are worthless because you make yourself that way. You will remember me every day for the rest of your life because I was the one and you threw me away.”
“You can only give your heart away once; after that, everything else will just chase your first love.”
“He will remember eventually and this whole charade will come crashing down around me like a bad game of Jenga. Until then, I have him back and I am going to hold onto that for as long as I can.”

“What have you done?”
“Cammie,” I said, looking at her in horror. ”Really, really bad things. And the worst part is – I don’t know if I’ll ever stop.”

“You are not as bad as you think. Whatever you’ve done, Caleb will still love you. You have to let him love you, Olivia, and more importantly, you have to love him back.”

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

544044_546905715328_1948361318_a

About Tarryn Fisher

I would like to write a novel that every, single person loves, but not even J.K. Rowling could do that. Instead, I try to write stories that pull on people’s emotions. I believe that sadness is the most powerful emotion, and swirled with regret the two become a dominating force. I love villains. Three of my favorites are Mother Gothel, Gaston and the Evil Queen who all suffered from a pretty wicked case of vanity (like me). I like to make these personality types the center of my stories.
I love rain, Coke, Starbucks and sarcasm. I hate bad adjectives and the word “smolder”. If you read my books-I love you. If you hate my books-I still love you, but please don’t be mean to me; I’m half bad-ass, half cry baby.

 

Leave a Reply

